Amazon header ad

DNC Celebrates LGBTQ Victories

DNC Chair Tom Perez issued the following statement:

0 0

“Congratulations to all of the newly-elected LGBTQ Democrats on their historic victories last night. The DNC was proud to invest and organize in LGBTQ communities across the country this cycle, and I want to congratulate all of our LGBTQ Democrats for running extraordinary campaigns on the issues that matter most. From Oregon and Colorado, to Kansas and Michigan, Democratic LGBTQ candidates broke down barriers and made history yesterday, while voters in Massachusetts soundly rejected discrimination based on gender identity.

“We’ve come a long way as a nation in our march toward LGBTQ equality, and none of our progress would have been possible without the courage of the countless LGBTQ organizers and activists who marched for it, refused to back down, and demanded a seat at the table.

“The Democratic Party stands with the LGBTQ community in the fight for dignity and equality for all people, no matter who they love or how they identify.

“Democrats put hope on the ballot, and that’s why the American people elected Democrats up and down the ballot across the country. We never backed down from our values of inclusion and opportunity, because we know that those are not only our party’s values, they’re America’s values.”

Congratulations to all of tonight’s newly-elected and re-elected LGBTQ Democrats, including:

  • Federal

    • WI-Sen: Sen. Tammy Baldwin

    • CA-25: Katie Hill

    • CA-41: Rep. Mark Takano

    • KS-03: Sharice Davids

    • MN-02: Angie Craig

    • NH-01: Chris Pappas

    • NY-18: Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney

    • RI-01: Rep. David Cicilline

    • WI-2: Rep. Mark Pocan

  • Statewide

    • CO-Gov: Jared Polis

    • CT-Comptroller: Hon. Kevin Lembo

    • MA-AG: Hon. Maura Healy

    • MI-AG: Dana Nessel

    • NC-Court of Appeals: Hon. John Arrowood

    • OR-Gov: Gov. Kate Brown

    • Guam-LG: Josh Tenorio

  • Some Historic State Legislative Wins

    • Sonya Jaquez Lewis is the first openly LGBTQ Latina elected to the Colorado State House.

    • Jennifer Webb is the first openly LGBTQ woman elected to the Florida state legislature.

    • Brandon Woodward and Susan Ruiz became the first two openly LGBTQ members of the Kansas House of Representatives.

    • Lamont Robinson is the first openly LGBTQ man and first person of color elected to the Illinois General Assembly.

    • J.D. Ford became the first openly LGBTQ member of the Indiana General Assembly.

    • Mary Washington became the first openly lesbian woman elected to the Maryland state Senate, and Gabriel Acevero became the first openly gay man of Afro-Latino descent elected to the Maryland General Assembly;

    • Jeremy Moss is the first openly LGBTQ person elected to the Michigan state Senate;

    • Megan Hunt became the first openly LGBTQ member of the Nebraska House of Representatives.

    • Gerri Cannon and Lisa Bunker both won seats in the New Hampshire House of Representatives, becoming the first openly transgender people to serve in the New Hampshire State House.

    • Nickie Antonio became the first openly LGBTQ person elected to the Ohio state Senate

    • Malcolm Kenyatta became the first openly LGBTQ person of color elected to the Pennsylvania state legislature

    • Cody Thompson restored representation in the West Virginia House of Delegates, becoming the body’s only openly LGBTQ member.


For additional LGBTQ wins and live tracking of LGBTQ Candidates, go to